Text Size

  • Increase
  • Decrease
  • Normal

Current Size: 100%

Circle of Life Awards

Call for Nominations: Circle of Life Award
Celebrating Innovation in Palliative and End-of-Life care

The Circle of Life Award honor innovative palliative and end-of-life care in hospices, hospitals, health care systems, long-term care facilities, and other direct care providers.  The Circle of Life Awards shine a light on programs and organizations that can serve as models or inspiration for other providers.

Make sure your program gets the national recognition it deserves. The Circle of Life Awards will give top honors in 2016 to up to three programs or organizations.

Hear past honorees talk about their innovations and the award's value:

In speaking with hospice providers, I frequently hear many of them say ‘I don’t think we’re ready yet to submit a nomination…” But I can attest that many of these organizations do have programs that are worth nominating for The Circle of Life Award says J. Donald Schumacher, NHPCO president and CEO.

“In fact, many hospice providers have found that the thorough process of submitting a nomination has led to unexpected sense of satisfaction and accomplishment. So I encourage hospices to look into nominating their worthwhile programs.”

Applications must be received by August 10, 2015.

For any questions, please email circleoflife@aha.org.

The awards are currently supported, in part, by the California HealthCare Foundation, based in Oakland, California, and the Cambia Health Foundation. Major sponsors of the awards are the American Hospital Association, the Catholic Health Association and the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization & National Hospice Foundation. The awards are cosponsored by The American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine, the Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association/the Hospice & Palliative Credentialing Center/the Hospice and Palliative Nurses Foundation, and the National Association of Social Workers.

Read about the 2014 Circle of Life Award recipients.

Read about the 2013 Circle of Life Award recipients.