Text Size

  • Increase
  • Decrease
  • Normal

Current Size: 100%


  Adopting the NHPCO Standards of Practice for Hospice Programs and/or the National Consensus Project’s Clinical Practice Guidelines for Quality Palliative Care as the foundation for our organization.


The Standards of Practice for Hospice Programs have been organized around the ten components of the quality in hospice care, which provide a framework for developing and implementing the QAPI process. This reflects NHPCO’s commitment to ensure that members have the tools and resources that ultimately will result in better care at the bedsides of patients and their families.


The Standards are intended for self-assessment and ongoing use in performance improvement or the national hospice quality initiative.  To this end, a specific Self-Assessment Tool was developed to be used in the evaluation of each group of standards.  The optimal score for each group is five (5).  Actual practice examples can be listed and an improvement plan developed by using this tool.

Pathways to Success

Following each group of standards is a set of “Practice Examples.”  Practice Examples are meant to be varying ways to implement the standards.  The Practice Examples are not intended to be requirements or descriptions of the best or only way to meet the standards.  They are only intended as examples from practice that can be imitated or used to spur ideas and creativity.

NHPCO Standards

Members can view exclusively online The NHPCO Standards of Practice for Hospice Programs. The Standards are available for purchase in Marketplace.

Help Desk

If after reviewing the online resources you need additional assistance, contact quality@nhpco.org or the Quality Team at 703/837-1500.