Text Size

  • Increase
  • Decrease
  • Normal

Current Size: 100%

Integrative & Rehabilitation Therapies

Integrative & Rehabilitation Therapies Section Leader
Patricia Talone, MSPT
Physical Therapist
The Home Care Network Hospice & Palliative Care
240 N Radnor Chester Rd
Radnor, PA 19087-5170
talonep@mlhs.org

Section Projects

  • Hosting the Reflection Room at NHPCO's annual Clinical Team Conference
  • Informal mentoring, connection to resources for Complementary Therapy Program start ups
  • Developing a Section Resource Library on MyNHPCO 
  • Hosting Section Meetings held at NHPCO’s Conferences
  • Active participation in CTC’s Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) Drive-in event
  • Collaboration with other Sections/Disciplines to provide resources on integrating complementary therapy/ allied therapy services;
    • Bereavement and Allied Therapy joined together to provide a Music Therapist at the national Memorial Service 
    • Certified Nursing Assistant (C N A) and Allied Therapy joined together to provide a teleconference call on Comfort Techniques used in the Role of the CNA
    • Volunteer and Allied Therapy joined together to create Standardizing Massage Therapy Competencies

Upcoming Projects:

  • Complementary Therapy NHPCO survey project (2014)
  • Revision of one of NHPCO’s Marketplace publications; Complementary and Allied Therapies in End-of-Life Care Manual
  • Revision of one of NHPCO’s Marketplace publications; Massage Therapy Competencies/Standards of Practice

Integrative & Rehabilitation Therapies Section Activities:

  • Click here to see this Section’s My.NHPCO activities
  • Recorded tapes, CDs and MP3s are available for purchase through AVEN productions; giving members access to all complementary therapy and allied therapy concurrent sessions over the past several years. Please remember to check this resource on a regular basis.

Integrative & Rehabilitation Therapies Section Steering Committee

Kathleen Blackwell-Plank, MSW, LCSW, ACCM , Medical Social Worker
Hospice & Palliative Care of Cabarrus County, Kannapolis, NC
Kathleen.Blackwell-Plank@hpccc.org

Katie Cyre, MS, MT-BC Complementary Therapies Program Manager / Music Therapist
Hospice & Palliative CareCenter - Winston Salem, NC
katie.cyre@hospicecarecenter.org

Susan Droessler, MT-BC, Music Therapy Department Manager & Internship Director
Big Bend Hospice - Tallahassee, FL
susand@bigbendhospice.org

Molly G. Hicks, MMT, Music Therapist and Bereavement Coordinator
Penn Wissahickon Hospice - Bala Cynwyd, PA
molly.hicks@uphs.upenn.edu

M. Karen Mueller PT, DPT, PhD, Physical Therapist
Northland Hospice & Palliative Care - Flagstaff, AZ
Karen.Mueller@nau.edu

Charlotte Norton, PVT
UC Davis Hospice - Sacramento, CA
conorton@ucdavis.edu

Charles Warne LMT, NCTMB
Licensed Massage Therapist
Tidewell Hospice - Venice Hospice House - Venice, FL
cwarne@tidewell.org

For more information, contact the Section Leader.